News archive | Appointments and Announcements

Batory Named Professor

Agnes Batory, associate professor and research fellow in the Department of Public Policy, has been promoted to the rank of professor. Her promotion was effective Oct. 10. She will be returning from maternity leave by the end of November.

Farkas Elected to Academia Europaea

Provost and Academic Pro-Rector Katalin Farkas, who is also a professor of philosophy, was elected to the prestigious Academia Europaea, a European non-governmental association of leading experts in natural sciences and the humanities.

Deringil and Trencsenyi Elected to Academia Europaea

Selim Deringil, visiting professor in CEU’s Nationalism Studies Program, and Balazs Trencsenyi, associate professor in the Department of History, have been elected members of the prestigious Academia Europaea, a European non-governmental association of leading experts in natural sciences and the humanities.

Three CEU Professors Awarded Prestigious Hungarian Title

Katalin Farkas, provost and academic pro-rector; Bela Greskovits, professor of the Department of International Relations and European Studies; and Gergely Csibra, head of the Department of Cognitive Science, were awarded the prestigious title of “egyetemi tanar,” by Hungarian President Janos Ader. The title, which literally means “university professor,” indicates a high ranking within Hungarian higher education. To qualify for accreditation in Hungary, doctoral schools must have a certain number of such professors.

CEU Business School Professor Joins IMRA Executive Committee

Bernadett Koles, associate professor of management at CEU Business School and co-director of its Initiative for Regulatory Innovation research center, was invited to join the executive committee of the International Management Research Academy. The academy is a global association of management scholars and practitioners dedicated to the continuous and effective development of management theory and practice. For more information, visit

Avineri Elected to Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Shlomo Avineri, professor of political science at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and recurrent visiting professor in CEU’s Nationalism and Jewish Studies programs, has been elected to the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

Trustee Macovei Receives ‘MEP 2012’ Award for Justice and Civil Liberties

Monica Macovei, a member of the European Parliament and the CEU Board of Trustees was recently awarded “The Parliament” magazine’s MEP 2012 award for her work on the European Parliament’s Justice and Civil Liberties committee. She was selected by a vote of her fellow parliamentarians. The magazine cited her record of judicial reform in her native Romania and her advocacy in the parliament for transparency, civil rights, and anti-corruption efforts, within and beyond the borders of the European Union. The awards ceremony was held in Brussels on Sept. 25.

Peter Balazs Receives European Union Honor

Prof. Peter Balazs, director of CEU’s Center of EU Enlargement Studies, was awarded the Jean Monnet ad personam chairship by the European Union’s Life-Long Learning Program. The grant is awarded to professors with a distinguished background as former high-level practitioners in the field of European integration.

Visiting Researcher from UC San Diego Joins Political Behavior Research Group

Darren Schreiber joined the Department of Political Science as a visiting researcher at the Political Behavior Research Group (PolBeRG) in September. Schreiber, assistant professor at the University of California, San Diego, conducts research on functional brain imaging (fMRI) to study the neural substrates of differences in political behavior between people who know a lot about politics and those who do not. Schreiber will collaborate with the PolBeRG group for two years.

Laszlo Csaba Receives Commander’s Cross Order of the Merit of Hungary (civil division)

Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban, President of Hungary Janos Ader, and Speaker of the National Assembly of Hungary, Laszlo Kover, presented prestigious state awards on the occasion of the August 20 celebration of the founding of the Hungarian state. The awardees received their distinctions for excellence in their service to the country, for fostering its development and advancing its interests, and for promoting universal human values.